Multilateral Environmental Agreements

Radiation Safety

Singapore has been a member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since 1967 with NEA’s Radiation Protection and Nuclear Science Department as the national focal point to the IAEA for several international agreements. The IAEA works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technologies. The Statute of the IAEA was approved on 23 October 1956 by the Conference on the Statute of the IAEA, which was held at the Headquarters of the United Nations. It came into force on 29 July 1957. Under the Statute, the Agency shall seek to accelerate and enlarge the contribution of atomic energy to peace, health and prosperity throughout the world.

The text of the Statute can be viewed at the IAEA website.

The international agreements to which NEA's Radiation Protection and Nuclear Science Group is the focal national point are found in the links below: