Enhanced Clean Mark Accreditation


The NEA Clean Mark Accreditation Scheme (previously known as Voluntary Accreditation Scheme) was launched on 21 July 2010. The scheme was jointly developed by NEA, MOM, WDA, and NTUC’s e2i, in consultation with industry representatives and unions. It recognises businesses that deliver high cleaning standards through the training of workers, use of equipment to improve work processes, and fair employment practices. 

The Clean Mark Accreditation Scheme was enhanced in 2012 to raise the overall standards and professionalism of the cleaning industry through better employment practices and productivity initiatives.

The following have been added to the accreditation criteria:

a) Productivity

To build and inculcate a culture of continuous productivity improvements, accredited companies are required to appoint a Productivity Manager to improve work processes, develop and implement productivity initiatives.

b) Better employment standards

Accredited companies must i) attain bizSAFE1 level 1 for Clean Mark Silver and bizSAFE level 3 for Clean Mark Gold accreditation, ii) make salary payment through GIRO unless otherwise requested by cleaners, and iii) ensure they do not default on any Labour Court orders issued in the 12 months preceding accreditation.

Under the Enhanced Clean Mark Accreditation Scheme, cleaners will enjoy better employment terms, and wage progression with better skills and training. Cleaning businesses benefit from more business opportunities, higher-value contracts, and a more professional standing. Service buyers and the public benefit from more efficient and dependable service providers who are committed to improving service levels and cleaning standards.


The Singapore government has been taking the lead by engaging only accredited businesses since 1 April 2013. Service buyers in the private sector are encouraged to do likewise to benefit from better cleaning standards and customer satisfaction.


The scheme currently focuses on the provision of cleaning services in three cleaning sub-sectors:

  1. Office and commercial buildings
  2. Food and beverage establishments
  3. Conservancy

For details on the areas covered, please click here. [XLSX, 198.03 KB]

Type of awards

There are two levels of award under the scheme; namely Clean Mark Silver and Clean Mark Gold. The award is currently valid for one year and is renewable upon re-assessment.


Cleaning businesses will be assessed in the following four areas:

  1. Professional and regulatory cleaning standards;
  2. Environmental health and cleanliness standards;
  3. Operation planning, support and delivery; and
  4. Training, quality of manpower, and general working conditions


Together with the implementation of the revised Cleaning Business Licensing framework from 1 January 2024, NEA will cease issuance and applications of Enhanced Clean Mark Accreditation Scheme. The validity of all active Clean Mark awards as at 31 December 2023, will be extended until 31 December 2025. Cleaning businesses may apply for Class 1 Licence under the revised Cleaning Business Licensing framework.

For more information, please visit here.

Information on training and productivity initiatives

Other useful links and publications

  • For more information on the basic statutory benefits for cleaners, please refer to the MOM website at

Tripartite Advisory on Best Sourcing Practices by MOM
Tripartite advisory on best sourcing practices by MOM

Environmental Cleaning WSQ Guidebook
Environmental cleaning WSQ guidebook

Learn more

For more information, please contact us at 1800 CALL NEA (1800 2255632) or submit your enquiries electronically via the Online Feedback Form or myENV mobile application.